Change and Remain

by Steve Mitchell

At work, a few days ago, I was told to take my my multi-meter and trade it in for a newer model.

What?  I wondered.  Trade it in?  But this is a great meter. 

Evidently, with new OSHA requirements and blah blah blah … turn it in.

Alas.

Now, see, I’m not especially materialistic.  Sure, I like nice things.  And I like new things.  But I don’t always need or want the newest and fanciest things.

I do get attached, though.  I get attached to the things I’ve had awhile, especially when they work well.

I’m sentimental.

I’d had this meter for over 13 years, from my first week in the post office.  I’d used it to troubleshoot more problems than I can recount.  It’d been one of the most essential tools in my bag and it had always, every time, for all those 13 years, worked without a hitch.

So, I’ll admit it.  I was sad.  I didn’t want to trade in my meter.

But I did.

And they gave me a new meter, the same brand as the old meter, and it had some new features and was missing some old features, but…well, hey!

It was shiny and new and still in the plastic!

I’m almost ashamed to tell you how quickly I abandoned my sentiment.  It took mere seconds.

And I’ve already used the new meter to locate a bad 70amp fuse in one of my machines.

And so, well.

Change is constant.

Still, I hope somebody, somewhere, gets some good use out of that old meter.

meter

So long, Buddy

