If I May Rant a Bit …

by Steve Mitchell

Not for nothing, I would gladly pay higher taxes for socialized medicine.

When I was in the Air Force, all I had to do when I needed medical or dental attention was get permission to leave work then show up at the base hospital.

There was very little paperwork and I never saw an invoice.

In contrast, today I received a balance bill for a physical Alec received 11 months ago.  The bill is for less than 25 dollars but, what the heck?  Nearly a year after the fact, they decided to send us a bill in effect saying, oh yeah, you also have to pay this much more.

I looked it up and Arizona doesn’t have laws restricting balance billing for PPO’s.

damnit

Also today, I received another incomprehensible EOB form from our dental insurance provider – this is not an invoice – It’s obtuse and confusing and loaded with opaque codes and tables of billed amounts and negotiated amounts and member responsibilities (!) for services provided I-don’t-know-when.

It’s for our records.

thanks

Insurance, while necessary, is not our friend.

It’s none of it designed to be easy or helpful.

It gives me an itch in my craw.

So.

That’s all.

/end rant

