Super Silly Long Wait Christmas Time Fun Prank

by Steve Mitchell

Okay, almost a year ago, I think in May or June, one of my coworkers retired.

We’ll call him Ron.

Also, in the fall of the year before that, another coworker had retired.

We’ll call him Don.

Ron and Don are both good guys and we had plenty of fun on the job.  I enjoyed terrible, terrible jokes with Don and silly, harmless, pranks with Ron.

So.

Not long after Ron retired, I got an idea.

And here’s what I did.

I looked up both of their addresses.

Then I waited.

And I waited.

And I waited.

Then, finally, near Christmas, I sprang into action.

Using examples of their handwriting from a maintenance log, I roughly learned to copy Ron’s and Don’s initials.

Keep it simple...

Keep it simple… It’s a pretty good forgery, if I must say so myself!

Then I purchased two identical Christmas cards.

Retirees dig Hello Kitty, right?

Retirees dig Hello Kitty, right?

Then I addressed one card to Ron, from Don, and the other I addressed vice versa.

The card also has stickers!

The cards also had stickers!

Then, I mailed them, one to Ron and one to Don, and …

Voila!

Hilarity ensued!

Or so I assumed.

The thing is, I had no idea how the joke played out.

Until today.

Today Ron stopped by work to say hello to everyone and so I asked him, “Hey, did Don send you a Christmas card?”

And he told me all about it.

After Christmas, Ron looked up Don’s number and called him.  Their conversation, roughly paraphrased from Ron’s account, went something like –

Ron:  I just wanted to see how you’re doing and to thank you for the card.

Don:  I didn’t send you a card.  

Ron:  I have it.  Is xyz123 your address?  Is your zip abc789?

Don:  Yes, but we don’t send out cards.

Ron:  It’s right in front of me. It’s your handwriting.  It’s a Hello Kitty card with stickers!

Don:  You sent me a Hello Kitty card …

Hooray! Maximum Prank Success!

Of course,  I ‘fessed up.  Ron had thought Don was just messing with him.  He hadn’t suspected me at all; although, he wasn’t surprised when he learned the truth.

Anyhow, it was nice to see Ron again and I’m glad I got to find out how my silliness went.

Also, it turns out Don meets occasionally with other postal retirees and he’s going to call Ron the next time they meet.  So, that’s nice.  My prank put them in touch.

And, Ron told me, when he meets them, he’s bringing the card.

