Ten Days in with My Apple Watch – Uchh, My Wrists are Hairy! View at Your Own Risk! Lots of Photos. Kind of Long.

by Steve Mitchell

Man, I had no idea my wrists were so hairy.  You’ve been warned …

anyhow.

I’ve had my 38mm Apple Watch Sport with the white sport band for about ten days now.

I don’t have it in me to write a full-on review; the internet is lousy with reviews of the watch.  But I will say I like the watch very much.  And I’ll talk about it a little and share some photos.

Here’s the back of the watch.

awatchback

The bands are easy to install and remove.

It uses some sort of optical oxygen sensors to read the wearer’s heart rate and to know when the watch is on a wrist.

Also, you can see the release buttons for the bands.  With my skinny, medium wrists, I can wear either the longer band or the shorter band, but I found the shorter band to be more comfortable with less overlap.  The sport band is very soft to the touch and comfy.

Here’s how it fastens.

awatchband

The wrist hairs really show against the white band …

I was worried the shorter band might untuck and pop loose, but it stays put. The tucked end does sometimes pinch my arm hairs when I first put on the watch.

Once it’s on, you’ve got to unlock it.

awatch

You can still view the watch face and tell time without unlocking it.

It’ll stay unlocked until you remove it from your, skinny, medium, hairy wrist.

But it won’t stay lit.

Here’s how it looks most of the time.

awatchblankThe photo doesn’t quite do justice to the depth of blackness.  It looks almost like onyx in person.

I’ve got a black band on order.  I like the white, but, as I feared, it’s conspicuous. It’s bright.  And I’ve suffered some good natured mockery and derision from coworkers because of it.

Of course, they’re all old guys and they’ll make fun of anything.  They also teased me when I wore new jeans to work …

Here’s the watch face I use most of the time.

awatchsim

simple

I’ve read some folks complaining about having to tilt their wrists in order to bring up the time.  I’ve found it works fine.  Sometimes I have to exaggerate the motion just a bit, but usually it’s pretty seamless.  I work with my hands, so the watch face flickers on and off quite a bit as I work.

You’ll notice I’m wearing it on my right wrist.  It’s because I’m left-handed.  At first I thought it would be weird having the digital crown towards the bottom instead of towards the top (like a right-handed wearer does) but now it looks normal to me and I can’t imagine using it in the other position.

Here’s closeup of the crown.

awatchcrown

It feels and turns just like the dial on an analog watch and is used to scroll or zoom.  It’s also a button for switching between apps.  The flat button on top is primarily for contacts but it has other uses too, like for activating Apple Pay or taking screen shots.

Here’s a screen shot of my apps:

awatchapps

The watch face app is always center. The watch face is “home.”

Here’s some other watch faces I waffle between:

I had to look up how a chronograph works - I'd never worn one!

I had to look up how a chronograph works – I’d never worn one!

I love how this one goes with the white band.  The sun moves throughout the day.

I love how this one goes with the white band. The sun moves throughout the day.

To prove I'm not a foreign spy...

To prove I’m not a foreign spy…

So, anyhow, that’s it for the photos.

If it were just a watch, it’d be cool watch, but not 350 dollars cool.

What I love about the watch is the notifications and how I don’t have to have my phone front and center.  So long as the phone is in general proximity, the watch will talk to it via Bluetooth or whatever wifi lan the phone is using.  (I checked and the wifi works – but there’s no user settings for it).

At work, I often can’t hear or feel my phone in it’s holster, but, now, when I get a text, my watch lightly taps me on the wrist.  It’s so discreet, no one knows.  If I’m talking or busy, it’s easy to carry on with what I’m doing and then steal a glance later when I have a moment.   Although, the first couple times I received a notification, it was such a new thing, I felt compelled to immediately look and see what in the world my watch was tapping to me about.

It also works pretty great as a speaker phone (through the iPhone.)  I don’t think I’d choose the watch over my phone when making a call, but, twice now, Lucie has called me at home while my phone was on the charger and I didn’t have to budge from the sofa!  Awesome!

What else?

Well, I work on my feet so the watch doesn’t pester me to stand much during my work day.

But at home, on my days off, every hour it taps me and reminds me to stand up for a minute, which I grudgingly do.

I have to confess.  Often, when it tells me to stand, I take the opportunity to go get a snack.

yes

I’ve read the heart beat sensor is very accurate and, in my case, it seems to be … except when it isn’t.  It’ll give several consistent readings in a row then jump weirdly to a rate which doesn’t make sense, then return (maybe the wrist hairs at work?) Also, it’s not very fast with realtime updates so I don’t look at it much when I’m exercising.  I don’t know if the calories burned feature is accurate.  So far, I don’t rely much on the fitness tracking features of the watch.

So.

In a nutshell.

I very much like the watch, even though I don’t use it heavily.

As I get used to it to the 38mm size, I find myself wondering how a 42mm would look.  I find myself wishing I also had a stainless steel watch for dressier occasions.  I find myself thinking about vintage watch bands.

It’s fun.

Anyhow, this doesn’t really cover nearly everything.  If you have specific questions I’ll be glad to try and answer them.

In the meantime, I think watches like this are the future.  Instead of being another distraction, they reduce distractions.

I’m hooked.

But I won’t shave my wrists.

