Words Are Only Blah Blah Blah

by Steve Mitchell

Well, here’s the thing.  I don’t generally write much about religion.

I’m an atheist.  I don’t make it a secret and neither do I advertise it.

My personal beliefs fall more in line with Zen Buddhism or Taoism.  In every day life, I value honesty and empathy and compassion.

I value those things, but I’m flawed and imperfect.  I have a temper and I can be petty and I can be willful.

Sure.

I’m not good at religion.

Anyhow.

For the last few years I’ve experienced a growing antipathy for the jingoistic, anti-science, evangelical, fundamentalist brand of Christianity so prevalent and loud in American society.

I understand it’s comprised of a vocal minority but it leaves me feeling irritated and itchy.

It isn’t that I expect Christians to be perfect.  Nobody is perfect.

But, I guess I expect something better than the typical ass-a-rific driver, shooting the bird while barreling through traffic in an SUV with a Jesus sticker on the back window.

I expect more discipline.  I expect more spirituality.

I expect humility.

Or, if they can’t be humble, I expect them to at least strive for humility.

Is that fair of me?  I don’t know.  Not all Christians espouse humility; I suppose.

But, when I see self-described Christians invoking Jesus but living in decidedly non-Christian fashion, all brash and bullying and deceitful and fearful and selfish and combative and dismissive and mocking and hateful and arrogant and self-pitying . . . I feel disdain.

I feel contempt.

Yeah.

Words are only blah blah blah.

