Well What Did People Do Before the Interwebs?

by Steve Mitchell

I’m 47 years old.  I’ve lived more than half my life in Arizona.  I’ve lived in this city for over 20 years.  I’ve lived in this house for about 17 of those years (gadzooks!)

And today, I saw an insect I’d never before seen.

Wha?

Maybe I’d seen one, here or there, at a distance.  Who knows?  But today, I saw some mystery bug up close and I thought to myself, Self, what kind of bug is that?

Is it a spider?  No, it has wings.  

Is it a cricket?  No, it’s too puny to be a cricket.  

What is it?  

It looks like a fly with long legs.

It looked kind of like this:

mystery bug shown larger than actual size...

mystery bug shown here larger than actual size…

So.

I went to google and I typed:  What kind of bug looks like a fly with long legs?

And, among the image results, I found my bug – it’s an Ensign Wasp.

Okay!

Ensign Wasps don’t bite or sting but they do kill cockroaches, so, that makes them quite all right in my book!

Thank you, Interwebs.  You’ve been very helpful!

