A Quick Note To Future Me On the Eve Of My Birthday

by Steve Mitchell

Dear Steve,

I’m writing this to you from way back yesterday, back when you were a year younger.

Can you remember that far back, old guy?  Huh?  HaHAha!

How’s the future?  HAHA!!

But seriously, how’s the future?

Do you have a jetpack yet?  Does food come in little pills?  Does everyone have robot butlers?

I sure hope so.

Today, so long ago, do you remember riding to work in the dark in the brisk 32 degrees outside?  Do you remember how the bike didn’t want to start in the cold?  Or do you remember walking in at work on a machine broken hard and working most of the morning to get it going?  It was phasing faults on the ID tag printer.

Do you remember falling asleep on the couch after work while Alec played video games?  Or going to get Lucie’s birthday present in the thick, Christmas traffic?  She has the same birthday.  I hope she’s there with you in the future!

You payed for her gift with Apple Pay and you never get tired of that.  Are you tired of that?  What amazing currency do you use in the future?

Well.  That’s all.  I won’t give you any advice because you are older and, presumably, wiser than I.

And I won’t try to inspire you to remember your youth because…well, I’m no spring chicken myself.

heh.

No sir.

Anyhow.  I’ve got to go.  Lucie just got home and she needs me to help get your gift out of the car.  I still don’t know what it is.

Here’s to the future, Future Steve!

Cheers.

