A Sort of Boring Post Purely for Historical Purposes…

by Steve Mitchell

So, a couple of weeks ago our TV started acting flaky on power up.  It’d take a couple of tries to turn on.  It’d chime on, then shut off, then chime on, then shut off, then it’d come on and stay on.

It got worse as the days went by until it hit a point where it’d take five minutes at least to power on.

Oh, for the record, it’s a Samsung 40″ lcd TV, some ten plus years old.

Also, it’s fixed now.

Here’s what happened.

After a few days, I thought to myself, Self, this might be expensive.  I don’t want to buy a new TV.  How much would the repair cost?

So I looked online:  samsung TV won’t power on…

And it turns out it’s a very well known Samsung TV problem with a reasonably simple fix.

Oh good!  I thought to myself.

It would seem Samsung used under-rated capacitors (too low a voltage) on the power supply boards and, if you’re comfortable with soldering, the capacitors aren’t difficult to replace.

I won’t do a tutorial here.  I’m no expert.  But the inter webs are full of how-to’s on the matter.

I read and watched a bunch of the afore-mentioned how-to’s, then went on line and ordered a generic Samsung capacitor repair/replacement kit.

The kit came in and here’s a summary of what I did:

I disconnected the TV and removed the back cover.

tvopen

Don’t let the photo fool you; there’s a dozen more screws where that came from…

The power supply board was right there under the cover.

tvpsboard

Those two black capacitors right in the center are 450 volts each and will store voltage.  Don’t touch the leads on those unless you’ve discharged the capacitors!  You’ll get zapped!

The culprit capacitors are there on the upper right corner.  A quick examination revealed:

tvcaps

Three of those four bottom capacitors are swollen.  The bottom one is also leaking.

There were two swollen 1000μf capacitors and one bad 470μf capacitor.  No problem.  My handy replacement kit included several 1000μf capacitors and …. none 470.

Crap.

Well.  What can you do?

I drove to Radio Shack, but they were sold out.  Then I drove to Frye’s Electronics, in rush hour, and got a couple 470μf capacitors.  It took me six minutes to buy them and 45 minutes to get there and back.

Alas.

Anyhow.  Once I had the new capacitors, I unplugged the board, removed it from the TV, and desoldered and yanked the offending parts. I only burned myself a couple of times…

tvbeasties

got the beasties…

Then I soldered in the new capacitors, reinstalled the board, and reassembled the TV.  Umm, I’ve got no photos for that part; I was ready to be done.  But here’s kind of how the last step went:

tvopen

This seems familiar…

Then I hooked the TV all up and plugged it in and crossed my fingers and felt a little sick with worry and pushed the ON button and…

It worked!

Hooray!

And thank goodness!  Now we don’t have to waste valuable minutes of our lives contemplating nature or reading or some such while we wait for the TV to come on.

And that’s a good thing,  right?

Right?

