Fan Those Cooler Calmer Flames

by Steve Mitchell

As I sit here, with my keyboard, like so many Americans, I have a lot I want to say about recent events.

But, I don’t know how to say it all coherently, and, if I’m honest, I don’t have much value to add.  What I really want is to just talk out loud, to order and organize my thoughts and feelings.  It’s purely for my own benefit.

I’ll spare you that.

Eh, so anyhow.

I will say it was nice, this morning, to look at social media and see several anecdotal examples of compassion and sanity between black Americans and the police.

It was nice to see the few examples of cooler heads prevailing, to see the dialogue start.

It was especially nice to see it from the police.

Nothing is fixed, really.  Things are basically the same as they were yesterday.  There’s still too many white Americans who don’t view black Americans as real Americans.  There’s still all the spittle-flecked invective and fear from the far right.  There are still entire police forces which will need to be dragged, biting and scratching, into the 21st century.

But.

Those few, anecdotal examples give me hope.

There’s maybe, hopefully, a tender, tiny spark of progress.

 

 

