Time Slip Time Flow

by Steve Mitchell

Here I am.

I don’t guess I have any haiku today.  Well, maybe I do.  Let’s check:

umm,

.

.

pond…

.

.

eh,

It’s a work in progress.  We’ll get back to that.

Earlier today, my mom texted me to make sure I’m okay.  The last time I let a few days slip by without posting was a couple of months ago when I had pneumonia.  Folks get worried.

But, I’m okay.  *knock on wood* my bronchial health seems back to normal.  I’ve just been busy the last few days.

Speaking of pneumonia, though, on Thursday I learned a coworker had died quite suddenly with pneumonia.  He’d gone into the hospital on a Monday and died the following Wednesday.  I knew who he was.  I didn’t really know him.

It’s distressing to contemplate.  He’s the second employee at the plant to die of pneumonia this year.

Thinking about it makes my chest feel tight; I’ll admit.

It’s best not to dwell on the things we can’t control.

So.

To the busy weekend –

After I spent the day at work, Friday, feeling all psychosomatically ill,  Lucie and I drove down to Tucson to visit friends from my Air Force days.

We had a lovely, low key weekend, with some drinking involved, yes.

I’ve been out of the service for about 25 years but, when I’m around my peers from that time I feel relaxed and free to be myself.

The only other person I’m as comfortable with is my wife, Lucie.  I always feel at my ease with her.

But, otherwise, for 25 years, in all other social situations, I’ve had my guard up, at least a little.  It’s distressing to contemplate.

Thinking about it makes my chest feel tight; I’ll admit.

It’s best not to dwell on the things we can’t control.

Anyhow.

I won’t bore you with the details of our visit.  We ate at some good restaurants in Tucson.  We drank wine.  We played Cards Against Humanity.  We toured the Tucson Desert Museum.

The suite Lucie booked for the two of us had a whirlpool tub.

Processed with Snapseed.

It’s in the bedroom!  But, we couldn’t quite see the TV from the tub…

I loved the color scheme of the room; it made me feel like we were in a ten year old episode of Trading Spaces.

Processed with Snapseed.

The Joneses will be so surprised…!

Oh, but those hotel pillows – I forgot until I looked at the above photo.  They’re those thick foam pillows which hardly compress and won’t lay flat.  They kill my neck.  On Saturday night, I used a pillow case filled with bath towels instead.  Much better.

I guess that’s about it.

I didn’t really take any other pictures.  I wasn’t in that frame of mind.  And we’ve got stories from the weekend but I don’t quite feel like sharing.

I didn’t feel like documenting the weekend.

I felt like living it.



his face reflected
the dark pond
an inkwell

—-

© Steve Mitchell 2016

