Meanwhile, After the Inauguration

by Steve Mitchell

Oh, boy.  I don’t have words.

Let’s see –

Lucie is in Washington DC where she participated in the Women’s March on DC.  My mom very generously offered to pay her airfare and lodging so she could go.

Over half a million people showed up in DC.  More than two hundred thousand marched in New York while over two hundred and fifty thousand people marched in Chicago and over three quarters of a million people marched in Los Angeles.  Other countries participated, too.  There were protest marches on every continent of the world.

You probably heard about it.

Anyhow.

I’m so glad Lucie got to go.

And I’m thrilled by the overwhelming turnout.  I’m thrilled by the peacefulness of it and the positivity of it.

I’m buoyed by the loud-and-clear, undeniable response to the Trump camp’s bigotry and misogyny.

When I told a coworker Lucie was going to DC, he kind of shrugged and asked what the point of the whole thing was.  Trump is still going to be president.

And I told him the point is to show Trump his rhetoric doesn’t speak for all Americans.  The point is to prevent him and his cronies from controlling the narrative and claiming a mandate.  The point is to remind him and congress who their employers are and what we expect from them.

Spin it as they might (and they’ll certainly spin and spin) there’s no ignoring today’s unified response to Trump and what he represents.

It’s just amazing.  It gives me hope.

This is the America for which I wore the uniform.

This is the America of which I’m proud.

