On Very Low Heat

by Steve Mitchell

Welcome back to Food Fare.  Hello, caller, you’re on the air.  What’s your name and where are you calling from?

Hi, Bruce. My name Joseph.  I’m a a longtime listener, first time caller.

Welcome.  We’re glad to have you.  Where are you calling from?

Um, Ohio…

Welcome, Joseph.  What’s your question today?

Well, um, I’m trying to make a stew and I’m having a problem.  I don’t know if they’re dissolving or-

If what’s dissolving?

I modified a recipe I found online but-

Excuse me, what’s – what is dissolving?

the carrots

Carrots?

yes, I-

Normal carrots?  You’re talking about the vegetable?

yeah, regular carrots.  I bought them at the store.

So now, wait a minute.  You’re having problems with your carrots dissolving? 

Yeah, umm, I cut up a bunch of carrots for my stew,

mm hmm

and I put them in the stew pot.  I’m sure I put them in there, but now they’re not in there.

You think they dissolved?

Well, um, I don’t know.

I mean, I’ve never heard of anything like that.  As a rule, carrots aren’t known to dissolve.  You’re sure they’re not still in there?  Did you chop the carrots?  Did you mince them?  What kind of stock did you use?

It’s, I just used water.

Just water?  Are you sure it’s just water?

yeah

Because to dissolve a carrot, I mean, even diced carrots.  What kind of water can dissolve carrots?  Do you follow me?

yeah, but, I think the water is okay because it hasn’t hurt the fish and-

The fish?

I’m making a fish stew.

What kind of fish?

I modified the recipe and –

What kind of fish?

um, Piranha

Piranha?

yeah

Hooo boy.  Joseph, Joseph, Joseph.  Let me ask you something.

yes?

Joseph…is the piranha still alive?

umm, yes…

Okay, don’t do that.  Don’t make piranha stew, Joseph.  Okay?  Take that piranha back to wherever you found it.  Okay?  Thanks for the call, Joseph.  Goodbye.

And that’ll do it, Folks.  That’s all the time we have today.  Join us again next week for another round of Food Fare!

—-

© Steve Mitchell 2017

